You can read more about lefthanders on our affiliated websites

Lefthanders in Sports        Lefthanders Newsletter        Lefthanders Place        Products for Lefthanders


The Best Lefthanded Batters and Lefthanded Pitchers in Baseball

National League Cy Young Award Winners

2014 – Clayton Kershaw, LA Dodgers
2013 – Clayton Kershaw, LA Dodgers
2011 – Clayton Kershaw, LA Dodgers
2002 – Randy Johnson, Arizona
2001-  Randy Johnson, Arizona
2000 – Randy Johnson, Arizona
1999 – Randy Johnson, Arizona
1998 – Tom Glavine, Atlanta
1991 –Tom Glavine, Atlanta
1989 – Mark Davis, San Diego
1982 – Steve Carlton, Philadelphia
1981 – Fernando Valenzuela, Dodgers
1980 – Steve Carlton, Philadelphia
1977 – Steve Carlton, Philadelphia
1976 – Randy Jones, San Diego
1972 – Steve Carlton, Philadelphia
1967 – Mike McCormick, San Francisco

Lefthanded Cy Young Award Winners

The Cy Young Award has been awarded to the “best pitcher” in baseball, as voted by members of the Baseball Writers of America since 1956.  For the first eleven years there was just one winner (National League and American League combined) and there were five lefthanded winners (see list below). 

Since 1967, there has been one winner for each league and in those fifty-four years there has been seventeen winners in the National League and seventeen winners in the American League.

Randy Johnson won the Cy Young Award five times in his career, the first time with the Seattle Mariners, and then four years in a row with the Arizona Diamondbacks.

Steve Carlton won the Cy Young Award four times, all with the Philadelphia Phillies.

Sandy Koufax won the Cy Young Award three times with the Los Angeles Dodgers.

Clayton Kershaw has won the Cy Young Award three times with the Los Angeles Dodgers.

Combined League Winners
1966 – Sandy Koufax, LA Dodgers
1965 – Sandy Koufax, LA Dodgers
1963 – Sandy Koufax, LA Dodgers
1961 – Whitey Ford, NY Yankees
1957 – Warren Spahn, Milwaukee Braves                                                     

American League Cy Young Award Winners

2021 - Robbie Ray, Toronto
2018 - Blake Snell, Tampa Bay
2015 – Dallas Keuchel, Houston
2012 – David Price, Tampa Bay
2008 – Cliff Lee, Cleveland
2007 – CC Sabathia, Cleveland
2006 – Johan Santana, Minnesota 
2004 – Johan Santana, Minnesota
2002 – Barry Zito, Oakland
1995 – Randy Johnson, Seattle
1988 – Frank Viola, Minnesota 
1984 – Willie Hernandez, Detroit
1979 - Mike Flanagan, Baltimore
1978 – Ron Guidry, New York 
1977 – Sparky Lyle, New York
1971 – Vida Blue, Oakland
1969 – Mike Cuellar, Baltimore