You can read more about lefthanders on our affiliated websites

Lefthanders in Sports        Lefthanders Newsletter        Lefthanders Place        Products for Lefthanders


The Best Lefthanded Batters and Lefthanded Pitchers in Baseball

Keith Hernandez won National League Gold Glove Awards 11 years in a row from 1978-1988.  He also batted .296 over his 16 year career, with 426 doubles, 162 home runs, and 1071 RBI.

Don Mattingly won American League Gold Glove Awards 9 out of 10 years from 1985-1994.  He also batted .307 over his 14 year career, with 442 doubles, 222 home runs, and 1099 RBI.

​​Lefthanded First-Baseman have won the the Gold Glove Awards

a total of 79 of the 127 times it has been presented.  

Lefthanded ​Gold Glove Winning First-Basemen

Bill White won in the National League 7 years in a row from 1960-1966.

Wes Parker won in the National League 6 years in a row from 1967-1972.  

J.T. Snow won 6 years in a row, 1995-96 in the American League and 1997-2000 in the National League.

Anthony Rizzo won 4 of the past 5 years in the NL (2016, 2018, 2019, and 2020)

Eric Hosmer won 4 out of 5 years in the AL from 2013-2017.  

Adrian Gonzalez has won a total of 4 gold gloves, 1 in the American League in 2011, and 3 in the National League (2008. 2009, and 2014).

Mark Grace won 4 out of 5 years from 1992-1996.

Todd Helton won 3 of the next 4 years from 2001-2004.

Rafael Palmeiro won 3 years in a row from 1997-1999.

John Olerud won 3 of the next 4 years from 2000-2003.

Joe Pepitone won 3 times (1965, 1966 and 1969).

Cecil Cooper won 2 years in a row (1979-1980).

Jim Spencer won 2 times (1970 and 1977).

​Other Lefthanded Gold Glove Winning First-Basemen in the American League...Mike Squires in 1981, Darrin Erstad in 2004, Carlos Pena in 2008, and Mitch Moreland in 2016.

In the National League, one-time winners have been...Mike Jorgenson in 1973, Will Clark in 1991, Joey Votto in 2011, and Dave LaRoche in 2012.