You can read more about lefthanders on our affiliated websites

Lefthanders in Sports        Lefthanders Newsletter        Lefthanders Place        Products for Lefthanders


The Best Lefthanded Batters and Lefthanded Pitchers in Baseball

Mark Langston won 7 out of 9 years in the American League from 1987 to 1995.

​Dallas Keuchel has won 5 times in the American League, 2014-2016, 2018 and 2021.

Ron Guidry won 5 in a row in the American League from 1982-1986.  

Kenny Rogers won 5 out of 7 years in the American League from 2000-2006.

Mark Buerhle won 3 in a row in the A.L. from 2009-2011, then won the N.L. in 2012.

Harvey Haddix won 3 in a row in the National League from 1958 to 1960.

Max Fried has won 2 times in a row in the National League (2020-2021)​

American League

Dallas Keuchel 2014-2016, 2018. 2021
Mark Buehrle 2009-2011
Johan Santana 2007
Kenny Rogers 2000, 2002, 2004-2006
Mark Langston 1987-1988, 1991-1995
Ron Guidry 1982-1986
Jim Kaat 1962-1975
*Bobby Shantz 1958-1960

*Also won combined ML award in 1957

Jim Kaat won Gold Glove Awards 16 years in a row from 1962-1977, the first 14 in the American League and the last 2 in the National League.  Kaat won 283 games with 237 losses and a 3.45 ERA over 4620 innings over 25 years.  He won 25 games in 1966, 21 in 1974, and 20 in 1975.  He was recently voted into the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Bobby Shantz won Gold Glove Awards 8 years in a row from 1957 to 1964.  Shantz won 24 games as a starting pitcher in 1952, but most of his gold glove work was done as a relief pitcher.  He finished his career with 119 wins, 99 losses, and 48 saves with 171 starts in 537 games, and 1935 innings pitched.

​Lefthanded Pitchers have won the Gold Glove Award 

57 out of the 129 times it has been presented. 

National League

Max Fried 2020, 2022
Mark Buehrle 2012
Clayton Kershaw 2011
Mike Hampton 2003
Fernando Valenzuela 1986
Steve Carlton 1981
Jim Kaat 1976-1977
Bobby Shantz 1961-1964
Harvey Haddix 1958-1960

​Lefthanded ​Gold Glove Winning Pitchers

All the Lefthanded Pitchers who have won the Gold Glove Award